Posts Tagged ‘David Weiss’

David Weiss & Point of Departure Releases ‘WAKE UP CALL’ On Ropeadope Records on 2/17/2017

Tuesday, January 31st, 2017

Trumpeter David Weiss & Point of Departure’s
Release Ropeadope Records Debut,
Wake Up Call
To Be Released February 17, 2017

New Lineup Features Weiss on Trumpet & Fender Rhodes,
Guitarists Ben Eunson, Travis Reuter & Nir Felder,
Saxophonists Myron Walden & JD Allen,
Bassist Matt Clohesy and Drummer Kush Abadey

*Pre-Order on Bandcamp*

Trumpeter David Weiss and his revamped Point of Departure ensemble recently signed a deal with Ropeadope and will release their first album with a new configuration of the band February 17, 2017.

Point of Departure was conceived in earnest in 2006 as a result of Weiss’s regular Thursday night residency at the Greenwich Village club, Fat Cat. The regular gig provided Weiss the opportunity to try out many up-and-coming musicians on the scene, in various combinations. By the end of the six month run, Weiss felt he had a fully realized a new band with a unique sound and approach; a harmonically adventurous ensemble with more of a free approach to the music, with the capability to switch grooves from swing to funk to rock in different time signatures on a dime. Weiss and Point of Departure focus on re-examining the work of musicians of that time including often lesser-known repertory works by Andrew Hill, Joe Henderson, Tony Williams, Wayne Shorter, and music from the unsung Kenny Cox & the Contemporary Jazz Quintet, ultimately giving credence to an unheralded and misunderstood era in jazz – filled with music that brought myriad influences and sounds into new, unchartered territory.


Winter/Spring 2010 Release Schedule

Sunday, January 17th, 2010


January 12
Dave Rempis & Frank Rosaly – Cyrillic (482 Music)
(saxophone & drums duo)

January 19
Colorlist – A Square White Lie (482 Music)
(Chicago minimalist electronic duo; 180-gram vinyl or download only – no CDs)

January 26
Greg Burk Quartet – Many Worlds (482 Music)
(new recording from 482 Music stalwart; American pianist based in Italy)

Sam Sadigursky – The Words Project III: Miniatures (New Amsterdam Records)
(poetry by Emily Dickinson, William Carlos Williams, Carl Sandburg, Léon de Greiff, Maxim Gorky, Fernando Pessoa + ensemble featuring vocalists Michael Leonhart, Heather Masse, Christine Correa, Jamie Leonhart, Monika Heidemann, Sunny Kim, Sadigursky + more)


Designed by Doctor Sandwich.